Former Stepinac Basketball Coach - Gene Doris to receive the Haggerty award

Posted Monday, April 12, 2010 by Michael O'Donnell
View largerCourtesy: MAAC Sports

WHITE PLAINS, N.Y. - Fairfield University athletic director Gene Doris and veteran referee Jim Haney have been selected to receive Distinguished Service Awards from the Met Basketball Writers Association.

The award is given for long and meritorious service to college basketball. The DSAs will be presented at the 77th annual NIT/MBWA All-Met Haggerty Awards dinner on Wednesday evening, April 21, at the Westchester Marriott in Tarrytown, N.Y.

Doris is in his 15th year as Fairfield athletic director. Prior to joining Fairfield, he was athletic director at Marist College for five years and, before that, was an athletic administrator at Fordham, where he achieved B.A. and Master's degrees. He has served as president of the ECAC, the nation's largest athletic conference.

Doris began his career as a coach at Archbishop Molloy High School in Jamaica, N.Y., and then moved to Archbishop Stepinac High School in White Plains, N.Y., as a coach and administrator.

Haney, who lives in Easton, Pa., began his career officiating high school games in 1973 and then moved to the collegiate level in 1983. In addition to the Big East as his primary conference, he's a veteran official in both the ACC and MAAC, working the latter's championship playoff game in March.

Haney worked his first NCAA tournament game in 1994, has worked the Sweet 16 four times and has also officiated in both the preseason and postseason NITs.

Previous winners of the MBWA Distinguished Service Award: Mike Granelli, Steve Smith, 2009; Chris Monasch, Larry Schiner, Tom Lopes, 2007; Nick Macarchuk, Dianne Nolan, 2006; Ray Amalbert, Cal Ramsey, 2005; Bill Stein, 2004; Edgar Cartotto, Mickey Crowley, Brad Tracy, 2003; Richie Regan, Jim Lennon, 2002; Carol Blazejowski, Burt Beagle, 2001; Lou Rossini, John "Doc" Johnson, J.B. Buono, 2000; Rich Ensor, Bill Steinman, 1999; Mike Tranghese, 1998; Bernie Beglane, Bob Mulcahy, 1997; Pete Carril, Paul Munick, Jack Powers, 1996; Bob Gesslein, Jack Kaiser, Paul Lizzo, Dan Quilty, 1995; Ralph Arietta, Butch van Breda Kolff, 1994.